Hrmm… Thoughts about Stuff

Discussions about ….. thoughts!

Na**??Mo

Posted by Jazmin on November 1, 2006

NaNoWriMo, NaBloPoMo, I wonder how many more Na-whatever-Mo’s there are floating around. Those are, for the uninitiated, National Novel Writing Month and National Blog Posting Month. Pronounced with the full proud mumble of a nearly unpronoucable acronym adopted as pop culture buzzword. The net (at least my corners of it) are alight with the already lamenting cries of ‘I’m behind in my word count! I havent started and it’s after /noon/!!’

It is a love hate relationship with deadlines. Most of us need the incentive of accountability to push into doing anything. Doubly so when it is something so easily pushed aside in favour of the always essential but never popular Real Life ™. You know RL.. the laundry, cleaning, work, errands that make even the most easy going of people sometimes look to one another and say ‘Y’know, this being an adult thing really sucks’. Real Life. RL to those fond of acronyms. It nearly always wins, except when you can hold up a longer and less pronounceable acronym and state with pride ‘I cannot do dishes! I am doing NaNoWriMo and I am 900 words behind today!’

I really should probably caveat my ramblings here.. I am not trying to disparage or mock any of the NaXXMo’s. Heck, even in my most wildest thoughts I don’t dream of trying to write a novel in a month. Nearly 1700 words a day. You have got to be kidding me. Anyone who knows me knows that my relationship with deadlines is more akin to the infamous quote by Douglas Adams. I don’t have enough confidence in my own writing skills or my own ‘Ooh shiney’ tendancies to do that. Which, ironically, makes me nearly the target audience for NaNoWriMo.

I am going to try for NaBloPoMo. It’s more my speed. Either here or here. I will beg indulgences for while we are out of the country and without net access. 6 days of November. So my goal is 24 posts in 24 days. We shall see.

One Response to “Na**??Mo”

  1. Chris said

    NaNoWriMo is hard. I’m already behind on it by about a week, but I will see how much I get done next week while I’m on vacation. *crosses fingers*

Leave a Reply

 
